2007 Bruce F. Vento Public Service Award: Congressman George Miller of California

National Park Trust Awards Congressman George Miller Highest Honor

"It is a tremendous honor to receive an award named for my dear friend Bruce Vento. Bruce's tireless work in Congress helped Americans to protect hundreds of thousands of acres of our public lands for future generations. Thank you for this great honor, and thank you to the National Park Trust for all that you do to preserve, protect, and enhance our public lands and national parks." - Congressman George Miller (6/6/07)

(Photos by Daniel Grogan Photography)

GMillerVento3Washington, D.C. (June 6, 2007) - National Park Trust, America's only land conservancy dedicated to preserving America's national system of parks, wildlife and historic monuments, awarded U.S. Congressman George Miller with 2007 Bruce F. Vento Public Service Award today.

milleraward01Congressman George Miller has served on the House Resources Committee since first coming to Congress and continues to serve on the committee today. He was chairman of the committee from 1991 to 1994 when it was known as the Natural Resources Committee, and served as the committee's senior Democrat from 1995 to 2000. Miller uses this post to fight for the protection of California's fresh water resources and responsible stewardship of the nation's parks, forests and other public lands.

ventophoto1National Park Trust established the Bruce F. Vento Award to honor those in public service who have demonstrated a lifetime of distinguished skill, resourcefulness or innovation in the preservation of land, water or historic resources for the legacy of America. During his twelve terms in the House of Representatives from the 4th District of Minnesota, Bruce Vento was a champion of the conservation movement. His humility was counterbalanced by the strength of his commitment to our parks. As a Member of Congress, he guided over 300 bills into law to help protect our natural resources. Congressman Vento passed more park and environmental legislation than any other committee chair.
OneBestPhilan.1617 CMYK